March ZOOM Paint-Along

DESMOND O’HAGAN: “Capturing Light – Interpreting the City at Night”

Saturday, March 16

9am-Noon, Mountain Standard Time
11am EST | 10am CST | 9am MST | 8am PST

Desmond O’Hagan has achieved “Eminent Pastelist” status with the International Association of Pastel Societies and is a member of their “Masters Circle.”  He is also a Master Pastelist with the Pastel Society of America and is listed in Who’s Who in American Art. O’Hagan has won several awards in national and international exhibits including IAPS convention exhibit’s Prix’d Pastel Award and “Southwest Art” magazine’s Award of Excellence (twice) at the “Windows to the Divine” Exhibitions in Denver, CO.  He has also won the George Innes, Jr. Memorial Award from the Salmagundi Club in New York City. His paintings have been the subject of feature articles in numerous national and international magazines, and his art is in public and private collections, and museums in the U.S., Europe, Canada, and China. desmondohagan.com

This Zoom paint-along is designed to help you see your subjects in a new light, and paint with minimal strokes in refining shapes and edges with pastels. Desmond will highlight his views on compositions, values, important elements in urban scenes at night, and simplifying shapes during the process of painting. Lastly, this paint along is designed to loosen your paint strokes and avoid excessive detail in creating a more unique piece of art. O’Hagan will demonstrate his process in painting a night scene.

DEADLINE to sign up is March 12 at 9 p.m.  However, to make sure you get the supply list and reference in time, sign up soon!  (Registrations are taken up to the day before the paint-along but you may not have time to get special supplies that some artists suggest.) 

Cost is only $20.  Open to members and non-members.  Minimum of 20 registrants.